Follow Us: Twitter Feed
Local Progress is a network of hundreds of local elected officials from around the country committed to a strong economy, equal justice, livable cities, and effective government.

New York

New York State Progressive Elected Officials Network

The New York State Progressive Elected Officials Network (NYSPEN) is a group of over 100 progressive elected officials in New York State united by a commitment to shared prosperity, equal justice under law, sustainable and livable cities, and good government that serves the public interest effectively. NYSPEN is affiliated with Local Progress, the national network for progressive elected officials.

Members are invited to a yearly New York convening and regional meetings, events and trainings over the course of the year. All members of the network will also become members of Local Progress nationally and will be invited to attend its national convening, receive 1:1 policy support as requested, and access monthly web-based policy programming.

We hope you’ll join us at our 2nd Annual Convening at the Desmond Hotel in Albany on March 4th and 5th, 2017. Click here for more details.

The purpose of NYSPEN is to empower local elected officials through trainings on public policy and leadership skills, to provide policy support and coordinate efforts to pass progressive policies across regions and geographies, to unite elected officials to advocate on issues of shared interest at the state level, and to provide opportunities for networking and shared solidarity. The network will also provide training and support for elected officials to identify and develop leaders in their communities.

NYSPEN is led by progressive elected officials and jointly staffed by New York Working Families, Local Progress, The Center for Popular Democracy (CPD) and CPD Action.

The network is open to any member who identifies with the statement of values and wants to work with progressive colleagues to build power. There is currently no membership fee or other membership requirement. Members will be publicly listed on the network’s website.

Our organizing committee members: Albany Councilmember Dorcey Applyrs, Westchester County Legislator Catherine Borgia, Brookhaven Councilmember Valerie Cartright, Poughkeepsie Councilmember Tracy Hermann, Freeport Village Trustee Carmen Piñeyro, Croton Village Trustee Brian Pugh, and Rochester Councilmember Molly Clifford.

You can join by signing up at, by contacting your local Working Families staff or by contacting Chad Radock ( or at 978-376-8178)

Latest News

School Board Members Resist DeVos

On January 30th, Local Progress organized over 70 local school board members from 15 states to submit a letter to […]


Opinion: We Won’t Stop Providing Sanctuary in Austin, Denver

By Gregorio “Greg” Casar and Robin Kniech Within days of taking office, Donald Trump has already shown he will fulfill […]